top of page
A handgun permit is required to purchase, lease, rent, or receive transfer of a handgun in accordance with Nebraska State Statute 69-2403.
You may apply for a handgun certificate through the Platte County Sheriff's Office. The cost to apply for a handgun certificate is $5.00.
The Platte County Sheriff's Office is located at 2610 14th St, Columbus, Nebraska. You may apply in person between 8:00 AM and 4:30 PM.
Applications will be accepted for Platte County residents outside the city limits of Columbus. Once the application is filled out it will take approximately 3 business days to run a background check before the permit will be available. Certificates are valid for 3 years throughout the State of Nebraska.
***The handgun permit issued by the Platte County Sheriff's Office is NOT a Concealed Carry Permit. To apply for a Concealed Carry Handgun Permit, contact the Nebraska State Patrol at (402) 370-3456 or click here for more information.
bottom of page